Is this email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser

TeachingBooks.net
Coordinator News, October 2013
Coordinator News

For all teachers who assign books

Easily and deeply consider the complexities of the meaning, purpose, organization, life experiences, and cultural knowledge of the books you are teaching.

  1. Go to http://teachingbooks.net/TextComplexity
    If asked to signin, enter your work email address and hit "Submit".
  2. Provide your First Name and Last Name, and then enter the book title that your students are reading.
  3. Then Voila! A qualitative text complexity rubric (literary or informational) is before you.
TIPS
  • Fill the rubrics out with colleagues, debating the complexities of each text.
  • Fill this out on any iPad, tablet, or computer.
  • If your classes are reading a book together, lead students through the rubric to deeply reveal distinctive elements of quality texts.

Results are crowdsourced, creating a new communal understanding of qualitative measures and grades used for each book.

http://teachingbooks.net/TextComplexity

Free webinars on using this new text complexity tool

Invite your ELA teachers and school librarians to this brief webinar to learn how easy and powerful this qualitative text complexity rubric can be.

  • Wednesday, Nov. 20, 10:00-10:25am ET, 9:00-9:25 CT, 7:00-7:25am PT
  • Wednesday, Nov 20, 5:00-5:25pm ET, 4:00-4:25 CT, 2:00-2:25 PT

Please complete this form to sign up for one of the webinars.

Thanks! Let us know how we can help you use and enjoy TeachingBooks.net.

Contact: Annette Smith, Director of Instructional Technology & Support
Annette@TeachingBooks.net

TeachingBooks.net | 800.596.0710 | info@TeachingBooks.net | Copyright © 2013, All rights reserved.

To change your TeachingBooks newsletter subscriptions or stop receiving this "Coordinator News," please go to: http://TeachingBooks.net/Newsletters

--TBAuthors--